Thursday 5th February 1846

“A letter directed to Mr Lloyd, postage unpaid, when opened proved to be a Valentine, supposed to be meant for me by my name being mentioned twice, or more, and which I suspect was sent by the nursery maid at Eccleston Wharf. If so, I feel obliged to her for directing it to Mr Lloyd, thereby saving me 2d. Her motive for so doing I know not, but she reversed the picture by sending an old house maid with mop and broom, thereby taking herself off rather than me. Bought five curious old prints at Miscellanous Repository in Princes Street, Soho, the subjects of which are as follows: a view of Privy Garden Westminster; a view of the Savoy from the River Thames; a perspective view of the new buildings at the Horse Guards; a view of the Foundling Hospital; a view of the Royal Hospital at Greenwich.”

Post a comment

