Thursday 19th February 1846

“A rather unusual occurrence happened this afternoon. I was sent to the bankers in Stratford Place, Oxford Street, a circumstance that has not happened before for many months, and would not now had it not been a case of emergency, and no one at home besides myself. Returning I got my tea at coffee shop in Wilton Road, Grosvenor Basin, Pimlico, opposite the ‘Windsor Castle’ public house, and when I got back Mr Charles Lea was there on a visit to his brother.”


[Editor’s note: No entry on 20 February]

Post a comment

