Monday 18th May 1846

“Took 2 rooms on second floor, 9 Richmonds Buildings, for self and Granny from this day. Rent commences at one florin per week, hence I commence paying rent. Hitherto I have never paid any towards it so that I may say I commence having a home of my own from today. Old Granny Shepard sleeps at her lodging tonight, the room not yet being in readiness for her, though mine is prepared for me. Slept in it for first time this night.”


[Editor’s note: No entry on 19 May]

Post a comment

