Saturday 13th June 1846

“Met an old schoolfellow of mine at coffee shop in Elizabeth Street. Have not seen him before for about nine years – his name Parsons. Regularly mucked out the office by myself, swept floor, dusted shelves, and cleaned windows by my own free will. If I had been ordered to do it, it would have gone ill with me as formerly. Two of our men, Whiffin and Burton, had the impudence to bathe in the canal in broad daylight and before several spectators. This is a penalty if known. Mother taken much worse, not expected to live the afternoon through. Sent for me to go up; I went. She said but little otherwise than that she thought she should not live long and squeezed my hand as if it was for the last time – ‘time will prove’.”

Post a comment

